GoCoast 2020 was created by Executive Order by Governor Phil Bryant, and serves as the official advisory body to the Governor for allocation of monies received by the State of Mississippi under the RESTORE Act.

Composed of more than 100 business and community leaders and elected officials from across the Mississippi Gulf Coast, GoCoast 2020 was tasked with charting a vision for the Gulf Coast to make recommendations to the Governor for initiatives and projects related to eco-restoration, economic development, small business, seafood, tourism, education, infrastructure, and workforce development. The group also relies on input from the public to help in the process of integrating existing plans and resources into the effort to create a bold, ambitious, and comprehensive picture of a vibrant Gulf Coast of the future.

The GoCoast 2020 Report was published in January 2013, and includes recommendations and ideas accessible to policymakers and citizens. GoCoast 2020 was reconvened in July 2016 to evaluate the current status of restoration in Mississippi, as well as to

GoCoast 2020’s eight key areas of focus were:

  • Eco-restoration
  • Economic development
  • Seafood
  • Infrastructure
  • Tourism
  • Workforce development
  • Small business
  • Research and education

The eight committees, referred to as GoTeams, compiled individual reports that were utilized in preparing the final GoCoast 2020 Report. Each GoTeam was tasked with providing a narrative of priorities, benefits, and its potential overall impact for their area of focus for the entire Mississippi Gulf Coast—on a regional basis—not just for a particular city or county.

The final report is not intended to be a list of specific project funding requests. The final GoCoast 2020 Report serves as a Coast-driven vision for the future that lays a foundation for the implementation of the RESTORE Act so that Mississippi can be as prepared as possible to maximize the use of RESTORE Act funding in a way that is responsible and prudent with a major emphasis placed on preserving and advancing the unique region of the Mississippi Gulf Coast.

The following is a list of members of the Go Teams for GoCoast 2020. Other members will be added to this list throughout the process.

Economic Development
Glenn McCullough, MDA, Co-Chair Clay Wagner Tony Smith
Anthony Wilson, Co-Chair Scott Delano Tom Kovar
Charles Busby Dave Estorge Clay Williams
Chris Anderson John Harral George Freeland
Bob Occhi Shorty Sneed
Small Business
Billy Hewes III, Co-Chair George Schloegel Greg Haney
Mark Henry, MDES, Co-Chair John Read Jim Blevins
Don Halle Bob Mahoney Kim LaRosa
Tish Williams Mark Cumbest Chevis Swetman
Kent Nicaud Farrell Alman David Hughes
David Baria
Michael Watson, Co-Chair Steve Renfroe Richard Bennett
Gary Rikard, MDEQ, Co-Chair Jerry St. Pe Randy Bosarge
Travis Lott Tom King Dane Maxwell
Tommy Schafer Kevin Coggin Stephen Landry
Mark McAndrews Al Hopkins Steve Bevilaqua
Eco Restoration
Brice Wiggins, Co-Chair Hank Zuber Tommy Gollott
Gary Rikard, MDEQ, Co-Chair Billy Broomfield Les Fillingame
Anice Liddell Kay Kell LaDon Swann
Brandon Pike Judy Steckler Bob Fairbank
Laura Bowie
Research and Education
Richard Bennett, Co-Chair Carolyn Crawford Randall Patterson
Jamie Miller, Co-Chair Timmy Ladner Ed Blakeslee
David Brannon Moby Solangi Glenn Boyce
Dr. Eric Powell  Rodney D. Bennett
Patricia Willis, Co-Chair Jay Trochesset Debbie Dawkins
Phillip Moran, Co-Chair Mark Mavar Jeffrey Guice
Jamie Miller, Co-Chair Sean Desporte Brent Gutierrez
Richard Gollott Joe Jenkins
John Hairston, Co-Chair Casey Eure Sean Tindell
Glenn McCullough, MDA, Co-Chair Kimberly Nastasi Frank Genzer
Woody Bailey Denny Meachim Matt McDonald
Rick Carter Kathy Wilkinson Margaret Miller
Frank Bertucci Richard Chenowith Chet Harrison
Mark LaSalle Beverly Martin-Burkholder
Workforce Development
Jim McIngvale, Co-Chair Doug McLeod Sonya Williams-Barnes
Mark Henry, MDES, Co-Chair Manly Barton Donald Evans
Mary Graham Marilyn Minor Ron Peresich
Chris Monforton Dianne Payne Leonard Bentz
Jonathan Jones Jimmy Lane